This is my dance, so let me be


Turn up the music and clear the floor

Get everyone in and lock the door

Turn up the fans for it’s about to heat up

Get everyone a mask for the dust will rise up

 

This is the dance that makes my night

This is the dance that makes me right

This is the dance that makes me light

This is the dance that makes me fight

 

Sit back and watch as I make moves my way

For my world disappears when I take this dance

Sit back and watch as I groove away

For my world is empty when I take this dance

 

It takes two to tango but I love the twist

For I can wiggle my waist and throw a fist

Not that it must land on enemies on my list

Just to make my way as I tackle the mist

 

This unending dance is what I am

It is the reflection of who I am

This undying dance shapes that I’ll be

It is the pillar that makes who me be

 

This is my dance, so let me be

 

© Oliver Mathenge, February 2012

3 thoughts on “This is my dance, so let me be

Leave a Reply

