Kenya ICC Hearings: A Reminder Of Who We Dont Want To Be


Since the first day of September, Kenya has had its dirty linen washed in the international arena as the confirmation of charges against the Ocampo Six roll on. As the world joins us in watching the second case, emotions continue to be ignited as people take sides on this delicate issue on something that had brought this country to its knees in 2008.

As far as I am concerned justice must be done for Kenya to completely heal and my stand on ICC is clear from my past postings. The recapping of the post-election violence events has taken some of us back to the KICC where the Waki Commission conducted most of its sittings. They have taken us back to IDP camps across the country where we could not hold our tears as we listened to those horrific stories while on duty. It’s a sad reminder of how stupidly and fast we turned against each other forgetting the great history we shared as neighbours regardless of our tribal or political affiliations.

Whether the charges against the Ocampo Six are confirmed or nor, whether they go to trial and are jailed or not, whether the government will finally prosecute the second tier of perpetrators, Kenya has a great lesson to learn this month.

We will not stop hearing of the over 1,000 Kenyans who died, of the over 600,000 who were displaced and some still are, of the millions that were lost in destroyed property. But it is my hope that as the ICC process rolls on, we will be reminded that as a country, we have more to safeguard than we lost.

The greatest hope for my motherland is that as we continue becoming emotional, angry and even vengeful as we recap that sad moment in our history, we will find a reason to keep us more united and peaceful with each other. We will get angry from what we hear, we will be reminded of images that we would rather forget, we will want to revenge but we have a choice to take the big step of embracing that despite out different tribal and political affiliations, we are the same people who breathe the same air and walk on the same soil.

I bleed, I am lost, I breathe no more by Oliver Mathenge (2009)

I bleed, I am lost, I breathe no more
Holding my breath, just as I did before
They cheat, they cry
Pretending they try

I blame me for I listened
Acting on what they said
That they would make everything right
That they would keep all in sight

Now they call me a nag
I appear they hide their flag
Yet I am asking for my right
A right that makes my life light

Will I ever learn
I made my neighbour run
No one to share in my sorrow
That which makes my spirit wallow

Yet today I whet my arrow
Ready to hound my neighbour tomorrow
Why don’t I hunt them down
Them that drained life out of our town

Them that I feed while I am hungry
Leaving my famished family angry
Them that make the laws
Laws that never arrests their flaws

Flaws that leave the country naked
Naked to reality that can’t be faked
Yet tomorrow I listen
To the slur that leaves me beaten

And then I chase my neighbour
Who previously I run to his shoulder
The day after I bleed like before
I am lost, I breathe no more

4 thoughts on “Kenya ICC Hearings: A Reminder Of Who We Dont Want To Be

  1. The other day! together with my friends, we made a visit to an IDP camp in Nyahururu(remember the man whose family ate a cat?)
    And this man, narrated to me how he was a victim of internal conflicts propagated by politicians, since 1992 (in Molo), 1997 (in Narok), 2005 (in Narok) and 2007( in Narok). He was reduced to a pauper from a budding businessman, and he lost his mother in 1992 skirmishes; father in 1997 and a host of relatives in subsequent clashes. He survived, by a whisker the 2007 violence.
    While this painful state of affairs need sobre approach, we should be calling for justice to be metted against the promoters of violence.
    Political choice of 2012 leaders should not be drawn in this matter. We want the future of Kenya and the generations to be safeguarded. Time for playing smart brother is over. Justice should not be bargained for like a game of dice.

  2. In as much as we make the choice to forget and bury our faces in the sand, it doesn’t serve any justice to the victims and perpetrators. We need, as a country, to come together and ask ourselves how we got there in the first place.

    Failure to respect the rule of law is our biggest undoing as a nation, there are systems in this country to protect our “sovereignty” as a country. But we have failed collectively as a nation to sort our s**t, [forgive the lingo] we have left the white man with that role. Shame and indignation are the result.

Leave a Reply

