The prick said positive, so I choose to live


Just one prick confirmed the worst
It all felt like seeing a ghost
Was the world caving in?
Had I thrown my life into the bin? 

Six months I had not had sex
My heart was now filled with vex
How would I live my new life?
What would I tell my future wife?

Six months later, the world turned against me
Close friendships turned so dim
Was the disease this demonising?
What happened to my life, so promising?

It is just a disease and I am not dead yet
I have over-lived the period they bet
They all said my life was on the brink
And I should take that poison drink

Should I give up and let them laugh?
Can my heart grow to be tough?
I feel my life has a long way to go
To the death they proclaim I say no

It is six years after that prick
My body still as strong as a brick
This is why I choose to live
Live positively because I believe
________________________________

HIV/AIDS kills! Malaria and Cholera too
Stop discrimination against people living with HIV
3 thoughts on “The prick said positive, so I choose to live

  1. Thanx oliver for such a powerful message. Everybody must think that it was either positive or negative, whichever side you are, you are still the able human being you were before you tested and should live fully, just like we were all meant to.

Leave a Reply

