The prick said positive, so I choose to live!


Just one prick confirmed the worst

It all felt like seeing a ghost

Was the world caving in?

Had I thrown my life into the bin?

Six months I had not had sex

My heart was now filled with vex

How would I live my new life?

What would I tell my future wife?

Six months later, the world turned against me

Close friendships turned so dim

Was the disease this demonising?

What happened to my life, so promising?

It is just a disease and I am not dead yet

I have over-lived the period they bet

They all said my life was on the brink

I should take that poison drink

Should I give up and let them laugh?

Can my heart grow to be tough?

I feel my life has a long way to go

To the death they proclaim I say no

It is six year after that prick

My body still as strong as a brick

This is why I choose to live

Live a positive life because I believe

________________________________

HIV/AIDS kills! Malaria and Cholera too

Stop discrimination against people living with HIV

© Oliver Mathenge, December 2009

2 thoughts on “The prick said positive, so I choose to live!

Leave a Reply

